Pilgrimage…………amazing

I had the opportunity to see the film Pilgrimage at the Tribeca Film Festival in New York City yesterday, my daughter tagged along…..I must say, after seeing the trailer, (something I rarely do as I like to go in “cold” to a film I am looking forward to seeing), I was thrilled with the entire experience…

First, the film was not what I expected for a “Historical fiction” set in 1290AD, it was so very  much better….Albeit a bit dark, very violent (as were the times) with torture scenes that made me cringe, I very much loved this film…It was well written, beautifully filmed, had exceptional acting and an amazing soundtrack to boot..

Tom Holland was very good in his role as the youngest Monk on this journey..Richard Armitage was incredibly sinister, but yet again made you “feel for him” despite the fact he was……well, no spoilers (and may I add twas nice to see him in armour and handling a sword again)..He never disappoints in any character he takes on, and he didn’t here as well, just amazing..

Jon Bernthal, with nay but one word in the entire film, conveyed through his facial expression, eyes and body language what the character was feeling every step of the way…Very well done by this actor whom I’ve followed since Walking Dead…..

We had a treat after the viewing, a Q and A with some of the cast, the writer and the director of the film, Tom Holland and Richard Armitage were not present..I’d no idea that was to happen, they answered questions asked by the audience for about 10 minutes….They did hang around after out in the foyer for pictures and the chit chat, which was really sweet…

All in all, without giving away any spoilers, this film was dark, intense, gorey in parts, violent, but all so well done..I cringed at times, was awestruck by scenery and soundtrack, shocked and saddened….

Pilgrimage is definitely a must see film for Armitage fans, this man, this actor never ceases to amaze me in any venue I am blessed to see him in, television, stage, or big screen…..You may be surprised at what you see, but you, if you are like me, will love him for it and enjoy watching him do what he does best..Oh, I almost forgot, my daughter loved the film as well, she was very impressed….

Pilgrimage will be released to theaters on August 11, 2017, and yes, I will go see it again and pre-order the DVD as soon as I can……

pilgrimage_still0423172044dcrop

About Tessa

Artsy fartsy floral designer for ............well, lets just say a long time..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pilgrimage…………amazing

  1. Guylty says:

    Thanks for the review! BTW, I am curious to know: With Armitage billed second, is his role a major one in the film, i.e. is he one of the leads?

  2. Tessa says:

    Yes, he is one of the leads…Billed second, then Jon Bernthal….He was in most of the film….He was amazing in that role

    • Guylty says:

      Fabulous. Sounds good. Any film that has RA in the majority of scenes, can only be a good film 🙂

    • Mezz says:

      Thanks Tessa. As one who is vacillating between wanting to see this yet is put off by the violence and the gore, knowing that RA is in most of the film is a very strong incentive to see it.

      • Tessa says:

        I don’t like blood and gore, but this wasn’t too too bad…I did cringe once or twice, but being a fan of films/books/series of this period in time, it was expected….I loved the film, I especially found the ending…………….. interesting

  3. SueBC says:

    Sounds great! And only a few months to wait!

  4. Tessa says:

    I cannot wait to see it again…… :O

Leave a Reply

